End of Summer Tournament

Our 2023 Summer Program came to a close on July 21 with the End of Summer Tournament at Ben Davis High School. More than 150 players competed in six different tournaments, based on age and skill level. Tanner Ray, who led our Jack Bradshaw and Levels 2-3 classes, received the Barbara S. Wynne Scholarship Award as the top instructor of the summer. A $1,000 scholarship will go toward his university.

We also honored 16 summer participants with two new awards: The Buddy Bernhardt Sportsmanship Awards and the Rick & Marty Fair Dedication Awards. Both are named after longtime NJTL leaders who made a tremendous impact in the Indianapolis tennis community during their decades with our organization.

The Buddy Bernhardt Sportsmanship Award winners were: Emilia Bell, Mecca Crossley, Edward Miller, Bexley Vaughn, Colton Collins, Erika Elizabeth Azocar, James Webb, Nikolai Owens, and Zakiraya Abdulbari.

The Rick & Marty Fair Dedication Award winners were: Annabelle Webb, Andreas Fife, Braylon Fishback, Kallie-Lai Loucks, Katherine Navarro, Jaela Williams, and Barbara Zambrano.